upendo.

I don’t know if you guys realize this or not, but I’m on blog post two for the week!  What was I saying about being a sucky citizen in Blogland? Psht. I’m on my way to being crowned Queen of this joint..

Anyway, this post is not about my boasting of being the best blogger around, so let’s get to it.

Many, or rather the few of you who read this, know that my little baby heart skips a few beats when the word Uganda comes up.  There’s just something about that place.  It’s beautiful, for sure, but it’s more than that.  I’m willing to venture that it holds some of the most amazing, kind hearted, loving people on the planet.  People who show the love of Jesus in ways more real than we can even fathom. It’s actually kind of ironic that a place so war torn and hated could be such a hope filled beacon for the “peaceful” nations that supposedly have it all.

In the recent months, I have become fascinated with the Acholi people. They are a people who have had the wrath of genocide beat on them, a people who never asked for trouble.  They are beautiful beyond words.  And their stories make me weep, laugh, and love more than I ever thought possible.  Presently, I know no Ugandan face to face.  But, I feel a connection with the people there.  A connection that I know stems only from the love that Jesus shows.  In the recent weeks, I have seen various other peoples from the more peaceful regions of Uganda, and I have fallen just as deeply for them.  There is much to be learned in that place, and few to do the teaching.  There is still a great need for things that are so easy to provide, but few to provide it.  They have a long way to go to achieve the “developed country” label that they desperately want.  Yet, even in their slums, sickness, and strife, they get it.  I have read story after story about women and children in that nation who only want to better themselves so that they can again stoop to the poor and needy, and help them rise up.

*Side note: In America, we would call that a “radical christian.” But why do those things have to be radical?  Why don’t we view them as actions that every follower of Jesus should have?  What does it say about us when we have every want, need, and desire at our fingertips, and yet, we live in pride and selfishness.

Now, I know that Uganda is not a place FULL of peaceful, God-fearing people.  If it was, they wouldn’t have some of the problems that they do.  But, there is a sense of community there and a sense of taking care of others and assuming responsibility even when things suck.

I’ve often wondered why we’ve left them to suffer..wondered where the “hands and feet” were..wondered why they’ve faced decades of strife while we live in first class communities.  So, it’s always a great day when I find a blog, or a website for a project that is working to change the lives of the citizens of Uganda.

I’ll share with you two of my favorites, and encourage all of you females to purchase something. *There’s something amazing about buying something that you know is honestly changing someone’s life..

Anyway, check out, http://www.ssekodesigns.com/ and http://www.invisiblechildren.com/mend

They are both awesome projects and super cute if I do say so myself that use the profits from their items to give women and children better lives.

And if you love kids like I do, check out, http://watoto.com  –It’s pretty friggin’ cool.

So, to end my rant about Uganda and all of it’s beauty, I’ll tell you what the title of the post means.  The word is upendo and it is Swahili for love.  It is a word that wasn’t used very often for many years, but has miraculously found it’s way back into the lives of the Ugandan people.

Here’s to social justice, eh?

Madlove.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “upendo.

  1. Marta

    Berta, you really need to meet my cousin Meredith. She one of the UGA ambassadors for invisible children. She went to Uganda last summer to do mission work with the invisible children program. She said there are no words to describe it.

  2. Oooh! I would love to meet her.
    And can I just say, I love that you’re such a faithful little commenter. It makes me smile when I see “Marta” pop up on my comment page.
    love you.

  3. Once again, you are amazing. I think you’re a way better blogger than I am.

    I. love. your. heart.

    CMB

Leave a Reply

